Main menu
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Events
  4.  » Key Considerations for Selection and Encapsulation of Capsules for Dry Powder Inhalation

Key Considerations for Selection and Encapsulation of Capsules for Dry Powder Inhalation

Date: Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Time: 11am ET | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

 

 

Administration of medications via inhalation is expanding beyond the treatment of conditions such as asthma and COPD, with many treatments requiring the delivery of high doses of API. Formulating the API as a dry powder and filling it into capsules for inhalation offers patients a compact and easy-to-use method for administering the dose at home or on the go. However, the development and manufacturing of capsules for oral inhalation requires the selection of suitable capsules and precise powder engineering to ensure manufacturability and drug product performance.

Join this webinar to hear from experts who will be discussing the current market trends in dry powders for inhalation, the key capsule characteristics that determine performance and the fundamental physical characteristics of spray-dried and lactose-based powders that contribute to the efficiency of the encapsulation process.

Key Learning Objectives

  • Understand the current market landscape of dry powders for inhalation and future directions
  • Define the critical capsule properties that can determine the product performance of capsule-based dry powder inhalers
  • List the critical powder properties that contribute to the efficiency of capsule filling during the manufacturing of capsules for oral inhalation

FEATURED SPEAKERS

 

Patrick Goncalves
Account Executive, Business Development – Inhalation
Catalent

 

 

 

Francesca Buttini, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
University of Parma

 

 

 

Gabriela Dujovny, Ph.D.
Director, Scientific Business Development
Qualicaps